Apertura play-off semi-finals: Advantage Unión Española and Colo Colo while San Marcos win Primera B Apertura

Goalscorers (image: number1sport.es)

The past weekend saw the commencement of the Apertura play-off semi-finals, and there were surprises in store with the top two of the regular season losing their first-legs without registering a goal.

On Saturday O’Higgins lost 1-0 at Unión Española thanks to a goal from the impressive Emiliano Vecchio and 24 hours later Universidad de Chile succumbed 2-0 to Colo Colo in an empty Estadio Monumental in a surreal encounter with a sodden pitch and two red cards . . . for Colo Colo.

It concluded a miserable week for La U who arguably put in their most insipid display under Jorge Sampaoli at La Bombonera against Boca Juniors in the Copa Libertadores semi-final first-leg. La U are now required to overturn two two goal deficit’s this week in two separate competitions.

In more positive news San Marcos de Arica triumphed in the Primera B Apertura to collect their first divisional title since 1981 and confirm their place in the end of season promotion play-offs.

Continue reading

ANFP confirm a new division is to be entered into the league system

Chilean domestic football is to see a new division added to the league system in 2012 with the creation of a professional third division; the ‘Segunda División’, below the Primera División and Primera B.

The move was approved by the ANFP (Asociación Nacional de Fútbol Profesional) when the Presidents Council met yesterday (22 November).

Currently Tercera (Third) A and B are directly below the Primera Divisións and are amateur leagues. However the new ‘Segunda División’ would be under the control of ANFP, the country’s professional association.

The new league will consist of six ‘subsidiaries’ from the Primera División, i.e. reserve teams – similar to that in Spain and Germany – and six others teams that can comply with the guidelines imposed by the ANFP. Copiapó and Melipilla are two teams expected to take a place in the new league while the remaining four places will be given to clubs who can meet conditions set out by the ANFP, set around finance and infrastructure.

A ‘quirk’ to the league is that all players registered must be under the age of 25.

The winners of the division will be promoted to Primera B and the bottom team relegated to Tercera A.